How amazing would it be if Instagram starts sending a notification whenever someone blocks you? However, it is far from happening anytime soon. Until then, you have to keep wondering who blocked me on Instagram. But, we’ll teach you some quick methods to find out about it.
In this post, I will guide you on how to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram. If you can’t find a particular friend, follower, or that special person on your Instagram, you should definitely check if they have blocked you.
- 1 Is it possible to know who blocked me on Instagram?
- 2 How to Find Out if Someone Blocked me on Instagram?
- 3 Are there any apps to find who blocked me on Instagram?
- 4 Final Verdict
Is it possible to know who blocked me on Instagram?
Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms worldwide. It has more than a billion active users that regularly scroll the gram. When you block someone on Instagram, you can find them anytime in your ‘blocked’ list. But, when someone else blocks you, there isn’t any list on Instagram to go to. You will not even receive a notification.
It’d be great if Instagram starts sending notifications whenever someone blocks you. However, that isn’t happening anytime soon. Then, is it possible to know who blocked you on Instagram? Luckily, it is possible to find out who blocked me on Instagram. You can do that using some simple tricks. So, you don’t have to waste your time thinking about where’d that user go.
How to Find Out if Someone Blocked me on Instagram?
Since Instagram doesn’t tell who has blocked you on the platform due to their strict privacy guidelines, you have to find that yourself. There isn’t an instant tool that’ll deliver the report to your mailbox, but some hit-and-trial methods. You need to follow certain steps, analyze things, and then you can easily conclude if that person has blocked you or not.
This may sound a bit complex here, but it is actually child’s play. Anyone can easily find out who blocked them on Instagram. Now continue with the instructions mentioned below.
Step-1: Search for their username
First thing you have to do when you suspect that an Instagram user has blocked you is to open the app and search for them. Tap on the ‘Search’ icon (Don’t tap on the Reels icon though :p), type that person’s Instagram username, and let the results pop up. If you can find the person, then he/she hasn’t blocked you (yet).
But, if you can’t find that person, this means 3 things– you are entering a wrong username, that person has blocked you, or that person has deleted his IG account. Continue with the below steps to narrow down your findings.
Step-2: Check them in a friend’s profile
The next thing you have to do is visit a friend’s Instagram profile and find them there. You should visit the friend’s profile whom you think is the closest to them. Here, find their name in the ‘Followers’ and ‘Following’ list. After that, find their name in the comments section of your friend’s post.
Also, go through your friend’s highlights, find a story where he/she has tagged that person, and try tapping on the tagged username.
Step-3: Find their Existing Comments under a Photo & their DM
If you remember that person has commented on your Instagram posts, you can go to those photos, and find their comments. If you can still see the comments, then you are unblocked. But, if you can’t, then your suspicion is partially correct.
Also, if you two have had a conversation on Instagram, find it, and see if you can see their username. If they have blocked you or deleted the account, you will see ‘Instagrammer’ written there.
Step-4: Search their Profile URL on Web
The next thing you can do is search for their IG profile on the web. Turn on your PC, open a browser, and type the link- https://instagram.com/username. Just replace ‘username’ with that person’s IG username, and hit the search button.
If you can find their profile, then things are fine. But, if you can find their profile, but can’t see their profile picture, post count, follower count, and the following count, while the posts section is showing ‘No Posts Yet,’ then there are good chances that you have been blocked.
Step-5: Check them with another Instagram account
The final step you have to take is to search for them with another Instagram account. For this purpose, you can create a spare Instagram account, or borrow one from a close friend. After that, sign in to Instagram from another account, and search for that person. If you can find them, then he or she has definitely blocked you.
But, if you can’t find them with this account as well, then he or she has deleted or disabled their Instagram account. You’ll be able to see them if they come back at some point in time.
Are there any apps to find who blocked me on Instagram?
A lot of IG users wonder if there are any apps to find who blocked me on Instagram, and so they Google about it. A simple Google search leads them to many Instagram stat calculators that claim to tell who blocked them on Instagram. However, this is not true. All such apps and generators are fake and scam.
They’ll only steal your information, show you ads, make you complete tasks for them, and infect your device with malware or spyware. Some of them even ask you to pay them to check the users that have blocked you but turn out to be a fraud. So, STAY AWAR FROM THEM. You may even end up your Instagram account trying to use them.
Instagram employees have clearly mentioned on various social media platforms that no apps are able to bypass Instagram’s user privacy guidelines to gather data. This means there isn’t an app that can hack into Instagram’s server, find your name in every user’s blocked list, and show you results. It is only a misleading thought.
Sometimes a valuable Instagram friend may abruptly disappear from your IG feed, and you end up thinking if they have blocked you. However, Instagram doesn’t send any notification when a user blocks you. You have to find that yourself. This is how you can do that. Also, if you are trying to use apps to find that, you are only wasting your time and compromising your device as well as your account. Restrain from doing it.
That’s all for this post. I hope you find it helpful. Feel free to share your opinions about anything mentioned here briefly.